• Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds: New Record in February, Ogden Theatre Show in April

    by  • December 3, 2012 • In Denver Live, National, NewsThreads, Record Reviews • 0 Comments

    • SumoMe
    Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds announced the February release of their first new record since 2008 -

    Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds announced the February release of their first new record since 2008 – “Push The Sky Away.”

    Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds are scheduled to release a new record – their 15th overall and first since 2008’s “Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!” “Push The Sky Away” will drop on February 18th (February 19th in the US). They’ve also announced some North American tour dates, including one at the Ogden on April 3rd (tickets on sale Thursday, December 6th at 10:00 am).

    About the record, Cave said “… if I were to use that threadbare metaphor of albums being like children, then Push The Sky Away is the ghost-baby in the incubator and Warren’s loops are its tiny, trembling heart-beat.” As evidenced by the mystically intriguing cover and Cave’s remark, it seems we can expect  brilliant new offering from the band. But see for yourself. Check out the streaming version of the record’s first single, “We No Who U R,” below, and take a gander at the trailer below that.

    The new record was  produced by Nick Launay (who also produced “Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!” and the two Grinderman albums) and recorded at La Fabrique, a  studio located in a 19th Century mansion in the South of France. Reportedly, the walls of the main studio are lined with an shamefully desirable collection of classical vinyl. And the setting seems to have lent the warm, emotive spirit of all of that vinyl to its performance, if the first single is an accurate portrayal of the rest of the tracks.

    Another insight from Cave about the new piece: “I enter the studio with a handful of ideas, unformed and pupal; it’s the Bad Seeds that transform them into things of wonder,” he explained. “Ask anyone who has seen them at work. They are unlike any other band on earth for pure, instinctive inventiveness.”

    Take a look, and pre-order “Push The Sky Away.” Talk about a great Christmas idea….

    [ca_audio url=”http://www.denverthread.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Nick-Cave-and-The-Bad-Seeds-We-No-Who-U-R.mp3″ width=”500″ height=”27″ css_class=”codeart-google-mp3-player”]

    Final Tracklisting:

    1. We No Who U R
    2. Wide Lovely Eyes
    3. Water’s Edge
    4. Jubilee Street
    5. Mermaids
    6. We Real Cool
    7. Finishing Jubilee Street
    8. Higgs Boson Blues
    9. Push The Sky Away

    Take a look at the trailer for the release of “Push The Sky Away” here, too:

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *